Home | Kayakalp


'Hard work never goes waste'..It is a proud and cherishing moment for our state as District Hospital Udhampur was highlighted twice in Mann ki Baat address by Hon'ble PM of India Sh Narinder Modi in its 36th episode on 24th Sept 2017.Just to remind that DH Udhampur was awarded first in Kayakalap 2016-17 in state and 1st in Digidhan Mela also whose award was given by Dr JatinderSingh Hon'ble Minister in PM lobby

The Swachh Bharat Abhiyan launched by the Prime Minister on 2nd October 2014, focuses on promoting cleanliness in public spaces. Public health care facilities are a major mechanism of social protection to meet the health care needs of large segments of the population. Cleanliness and hygiene in hospitals are critical to preventing infections and also provide patients and visitors with a positive experience and encourages moulding behaviour related to clean environment.

As the first principle of healthcare is “to do no harm”, it is essential to have our health care facilities clean and to ensure adherence to infection control practices. To complement this effort, the Ministry of Health & Family welfare, Government of India launched a National Initiative to give Awards to those public health facilities that demonstrate high levels of cleanliness, hygiene and infection control.

  1. To promote cleanliness, hygiene and Infection Control Practices in public Health Care Facilities.
  2. To incentivize and recognize such public healthcare facilities that show exemplary performance in adhering to standard protocols of cleanliness and infection control.
  3. To inculcate a culture of ongoing assessment and peer review of performance related to hygiene, cleanliness and sanitation.
  4. To create and share sustainable practices related to improved cleanliness in public health facilities linked to positive health outcomes.

Based on scoring, using a specific standard protocol administered by an external Assessor Team, the awards would be distributed as follows:

  • Award for best district Hospital and commendation award for 2 District Hospitals.
  • Award for best Community Health Centre and commendation award for 7 CHCs.
  • Award for one best Primary Health Centre in every district and commendation award for 20 best PHCs.

Each facility will receive a cash award with a citation.

Assessment Criteria:-

The awards would be distributed based on the performance of the facility as per the score card provided by the Govt. of India on the following parameters.

I. Hospital/Facility Upkeep II. II. Sanitation and hygiene
III. Waste Management
IV. Infection control.
V. Support Services
VI. Hygiene Promotion

The assessment of the facilities (District Hospitals, CHCs and PHCs (24x7) ) should be conducted as per the following steps:

Step 1:Internal assessment.
Step 2: Peer assessment.
Step 3: External assessment.

Internal assessment is a periodic assessment process wherein the assessment of the facility is done quarterly by the Internal Assessment Committee (Cleanliness & Infection Control Committee) of the facility as per the checklist. The Internal Assessment should start at the beginning of the financial year. Based on this assessment, the facility should identify the gaps and prepare an action plan to address these gaps. This internal assessment should be carried out every quarter and facility should maintain a record of scores for each quarter. The facility scoring more than 70% in the checklist shall qualify for the peer assessment.

Peer Assessment of a block level facility is to be undertaken by the hospital staff of another block level facility within the district. This is determined by the CMO. At the state level, a similar process is followed allocating a team from one DH to travel to another DH to undertake an assessment. The facility scoring more than 70% in the criteria shall qualify for the External Assessment.

An External assessment would be carried out in the nominated facilities by teams of external assessors to validate the scores generated through the peer assessment mechanism. The State level External Assessment teams & District Award

Committees select the award winning District Hospitals/ CHCs & PHCs respectively.

Based on scoring during the external assessment process, the awards for individual public health facility will be given to those that score the highest in the set criteria. The awards would be distributed as follows: “

  • Best district Hospital shall receive a cash award of Rs. 50 lakhs and 2 District Hospitals shall receive Commendation award of Rs. 3 lakhs each.
  • Best Community Health Centre shall receive a cash award of Rs. 15 lakhs and 7 CHCs shall receive commendation award of Rs. 1 lakh each.“
  • Best PHC 24x7 in each district shall receive a cash award of Rs. 2 lakhs and 20 PHCs shall receive a commendation award of Rs. 50, 000/- each.

Kayakalp Assessment Report
  >>  2018-2019
  >>  2017-2018
  >>  2016-2017
Final Kayakalp Guidelines
Click to View

Kayakalp Checklists
  >>  DH,SDH & CHC Kayakalp 23 Sep 2016
  >>  PHC Kayakalp
  >>  UPHC, APHC Kayakalp 23rd Sep 2016